MEET THE TUTORS

Experience tailored learning strategies from our tutors, aimed at achieving your personal goals.

personalized-tutoring

MJ SANTOS

MJ-SANTOS

Pronouns: He/Him
Subjects: All Things Math, Physics, Computer Science
Education: BS Electrical Engineering – UPD
Hobbies: Playing Video Games
Fun Fact: I once won a world championship in a video game.

Ask for Availability

Meeting Location: Home Office – 673 W 10th Ave

Laura Urias Flores Marin

Pronouns: Any
Education:
AA – Psychology, Long Beach City College, California
Biology – California State University, California
Biochemistry – Lane Community College
Hobbies: Roller-skating, embroidery, being outside
Fun Fact: I like to drift my ‘92 Miata!

Subjects:

Elementary & General Chemistry

  • K-12 Chemistry
  • AP Chemistry
  • General/Introductory College Chemistry
  • University of Oregon: CH 221/222/223 & 227/228/229
  • Lane Community College: CH 221/222/223 & 227/228/229

Biology

  • K-12 Biology
  • AP Biology
  • General/Introductory College Biology
  • University of Oregon: BI 211/212/213
  • Lane Community College: BI 211/212/213(Z)

Math

  • K-12 Mathematics
  • K-5 Math
  • Geometry
  • Pre-Algebra
  • Algebra
  • College Algebra
  • Trigonometry
  • Calculus
  • AP Calculus AB
  • AP Calculus BC
  • AP Precalculus
  • College-Level Mathematics Up to Calculus I
  • University of Oregon: MATH 111/112 & MATH 251/252

 

Laura-Urias-FLores-Marin

Meeting Locations

  • At a public space (within 5 miles of my office for no additional fee)
  • At my office
  • At your home (for an additional fee)
        $5 fee – 5 miles or less
        $1 fee – each mile over 5
  • Over Zoom

Availability

  • Weekends (Saturday/Sunday):
        Between 10AM-4PM
        Before 10AM or after 4PM: $10 fee
  • Weekdays (Monday-Friday):
        Monday: 4PM-8PM
        Tuesday: 10AM-1PM
        Friday: 4PM-7PM

Biography

Growing up in Los Angeles, California, I was the eldest of four siblings. Having parents that immigrated to the United States at a later age, they could only  understand and give us so much growing up. Once my sibling started 1st grade, I unofficially began my teaching and tutoring path. Although it was a difficult task for a child, I do not regret the situation I was in. This kickstarted my love for academics and allowed me to learn multiple ways to teach and guide, no matter the subject or individual. It is safe to say that I did a great job with my siblings. One of my brothers is currently attending California State University of Long Beach, and the other was admitted to University of California, Santa Cruz for the 2023-24 school year. The youngest, my sister, is currently in 4th grade and is excelling in all academic aspects. 

With over 10 solid, official years of tutoring experience, I have developed a myriad of skills, and picked up many tools for helping students achieve their academic goals. As someone who navigates life with ADHD and OCD, I recognize the importance of having a concise structure , tailoring guidance and trying different learning strategies to help overcome challenges. By understanding each student’s unique learning style and tailoring my approach accordingly, I strive to make complex subjects more accessible and enjoyable. Whether you’re struggling with specific topics, preparing for exams, or simply seeking to strengthen and understand your learning style, I am dedicated to creating a supportive and engaging learning environment. 

Although I am majoring in Biochemistry, my love for academics spans multiple subject areas. I specialize in tutoring Biology, Chemistry, Math, and Psychology, but am willing to try different subjects if I feel comfortable. 

Because I believe that education should be accessible, I personally provide a sliding scale available to low-income and BIPOC. If you are part of that demographic, please do not hesitate to include that in our correspondence. 

Students should feel comfortable asking questions, exploring new concepts, and building their confidence. Let’s embark on this learning journey together and unlock your academic potential!

LET’S KEEP IN TOUCH

Contact me

4 + 15 =

Email: eugenemathmentor@gmail.com

1150 W 11th Ave.EugeneOregon

By Appointment Only

Click here for a map.